Reverse Taper Method

If you are an avid runner, you may know what I mean when I talk about tapering.  For those of you who are unsure, it simply means that you decrease (or taper) your mileage and intensity to prepare your muscles for your big event.  When I ran track in college, my coach had a specific training schedule for the entire year that started with building a base, really pushing yourself, fine-tuning your skills and ultimately tapering.NU

Now that I survived a week without running (much harder than you would think), I am ready to get back into the swing of things.  One of our very talented trainers and mentors recommended that we follow a reverse taper method to prepare our legs for the next training program.  After taking a full week off, my body won’t let me just jump into a 25 mile training week so I need to ease back into things.  This is where the reverse taper comes into play.

To build myself back up and to prevent injury, I am going to complete the final 3 weeks of my Buffalo training schedule in reverse order with some slight modifications.  This week will still be quite light with about 15-18 miles.  I’ll build up the next week with more days out running as well as longer distances (my farthest run will be 8) for a total of 20-25 miles.  The week after that will continue to climb with about 28-30 miles and then finish my reverse taper with a 33-35 mile week.

This schedule should lead me directly into my 16 week training program without tiring me out too much before it begins.  The thing about running though is that sometimes even the best plans fall through (take my first marathon training experience for example).  This is simply a guideline that, at this point, I feel I can complete.

I’m off to get a short run in now but will keep you updated this week on training.  Now get out there and enjoy your Sunday!

Leave a Reply

