National Running Day!

Good afternoon everyone!

I just wanted to start off this post by telling you all that today is National Running Day! A friend at work told me this morning and I couldn’t wait to share. justrun

The past two days have been quite busy so it’s time to fill you in:

As I told you on Monday, that evening I was playing in my first soccer game in more than a year!  I was a little nervous to get back on the field but it came back to me pretty quickly.  There are a lot of new girls on the team this year but it was nice to see some familiar faces again and catch up before the game started.

My coach put me in the center midfield and I ended up playing all 90 minutes – what a workout!  I was surprised that I could sprint and even pulled a few moves out of the field.  We ended up losing 2-0 but we gave it a good try.  As the season goes on and we learn to play with each other, I’m sure we will win a few games.

Yesterday was another busy day at work but the team pulled together to tackle as many accounts as we could.  When we get really busy, I like to put some music on so I can drown out background noise and focus on what I’m writing.  Sometimes this backfires though and I end up dancing in my chair more than writing…whoops.

After work, my friend Christine and I went to a Pure Barre class for the first time.  Neither of us had attended a class before but heard it was a great workout.  When you visit the Pure Barre website they have a great description of the class:

“Utilizing the ballet barre to perform small isometric movements set to fantastic music, Pure Barre is a total body workout that lifts your seat, tones your thighs, abs, and arms, and burns fat in record- breaking time.”purebarre

By the time class was over, my lower abs, butt, hips and hamstrings were really burning…in a good way!  Some of the moves made me work hard while others almost seemed too easy.  My only criticism of the class would be that Christine and I were a little unsure what to do at times.  We would look around the room and follow our fellow classmates, many who have taken the class countless times.

One thing I took away from the class was that my strength is seriously lacking!  All fall I was taking a Body Pump class at my local gym but when marathon training ramped up, I stopped going.  My goal for this round of training is to incorporate strength workouts at least 2-3 times per week.

Tonight I am celebrating National Running Day with a 4 mile Scavenger Hunt group run with the running store I do my marathon training through.  Christine and my friend Russ are going to join me!

Enjoy your Wednesday!

Leave a Reply

