Early Morning Workouts or Afternoon Sweat Sessions?

Good afternoon! Today is flying by – I was shocked when my work neighbor Maria went on her lunch break because I lost track of time.  Those are always the best days of work when you are busy enough to lose track of time but not so busy that you are overwhelmed.

On Monday night, my girls played the other undefeated team in the league.  It was a hot and muggy evening for the game and my girls were definitely feeling it.  I don’t know about you guys but I feel so lethargic when the weather takes a turn like that.  They face off against the same team again tonight but it is much cooler today.

The field is only 4 miles from my house so I often run to practices and games but on Monday night I wish I hadn’t.  I was a hot and sweaty mess by the time I got to the field but luckily my dad was there to ref and he brought me an ice cold water (Thanks Dad!)

I went out for another 4 mile run last night but it was brutal again.  I love running in shorts and a tank top but when the weather gets too warm I start to feel so tired and heavy on runs that I question if I really am in shape.

After the muggy run last night I decided that I was going to get up early today to get my miles in before the sun heats up the day….big fail!  I set my alarm for 5 a.m. but it was so dreary out that I rolled over and went back to sleep.  I know that with the dog days of summer right around the corner, I need to switch my runs to the morning if I’m ever going to survive.  I will try again tomorrow!

So that leads me to ask all of you…when do you like to get your workouts in?  Are they something you plan out ahead of time or do you fit them in when you have time?

Have a great rest of your day and don’t forget to check out my Workout Log page to see my June schedule!

2 thoughts on “Early Morning Workouts or Afternoon Sweat Sessions?

  1. Benjay says:

    I like to go in the early mornings. When 1) it’s a lot cooler and 2) there aren’t a lot of people out and about. It’s way more peaceful that way. And then I get to go home for a bit and do nothing or make breakfast before going to work.

    • That’s a really good idea Ben! I like the idea of being out running the streets all by myself while everyone is asleep in bed…I like the idea of breakfast afterwards even better though 🙂

Leave a Reply

