Setting a Routine

Goodmorning and Happy Friday!

This week has been insanely busy so I apologize for the delayed posting!  Not only have I had a lot going this week, it is also month end at work which always means we are crazy busy.  We just need to hold on through next week and we should be in the clear.

So to recap my week:

My game on Monday night ended with a win for my team!  If anyone has been watching the World Cup craziness, you may have noticed that at times, the announcers will talk about how much running is involved in a game and they have even showed the distances in which the players have covered.  This got me thinking so I decided to wear my Fitbit Flex for the game just to see how much I ran…what a surprise!  I ended up running a little more than 5 miles that game in the center mid.  No wonder I’m such a sweaty mess at the end!fitbit

On Tuesday, I stayed strong and got myself out of bed for an early 3 miles.  It was a little challenging after playing in my game the night before but it was a great way to get the legs moving for sure.  My girls had practice that night so I got a mini workout in with them because I can’t help but join in the games.

I had a late night Tuesday so decided to sleep in on Wednesday and ultimately use it as my off day.  Later that evening, I went to an alumni event for Northwood University right here in Buffalo.  Western New York alumni haven’t had a formal meeting in nearly 10 years so I was thrilled to be a part of this one!  I didn’t know a single person there as nobody from my area has gone to school there since the 80’s!  It was an amazing evening where I got to meet a lot of interesting and successful people. photo

With another late night in the books, I skipped Thursdays morning run as well but made up for it after work.  I went out for a quick 3 mile run then it was off to coach the girls!  They won their game last night 3-2 against a true u14 team that was physical.  My girls do not like when the play gets physical and tend to panic but they pulled through it and had some really great moments of play.

Feeling a little guilty for missing 2 morning runs this week, I had to get my 4 miles in before work today and I am so glad I did.  I really love being the only one out of the streets in the morning when it is quiet.  I need to remind myself of this feeling when the alarm clock goes off at 5am!

It’s so tough to get a routine going, especially when it affects your sleep schedule so I want to ask all of you: how do you stick to your routine?  Do you reward yourself for getting moving or do you just buckle down?  I would love to hear from you so just leave me a comment below!

Have a great weekend!

One thought on “Setting a Routine

  1. I don’t like running. So, I see it as a job. The payment is how I’m gonna feel and what I’m going to gain by doing it. The reward is being healthier and better. The punishment is just feeling bad about myself. But, it’s a job… you gotta do the job to get paid. And, I really really really wanna get paid.

Leave a Reply

