Rainy Monday

Is it just me or is the Monday after a holiday even more difficult than a regular Monday?  To top it all off, I woke up to find a thunderstorm which only made it even harder to get out of bed this morning!  I apologize for the delayed posts but this weekend was quite busy with the holiday and my dad’s birthday.

So here’s a recap of what you’ve missed:

On Friday, I didn’t have to work because of the holiday which was actually a much needed break.  Friday was also my dad’s birthday!  I love my dad so much; he and I even have the same twisted sense of humor that my mom adores (yeah right).  Since it was his day, the plans were up to him so that morning we all relaxed at the kitchen table with our coffee and tea before he and I headed to the grocery store.

Now trips to the store with my dad are always a good time and we are lucky that we don’t get in trouble while we are out and about.  We truly enjoy each other’s company and find ourselves laughing hysterically in the middle of stores far too often!photo (2)

After the shopping was over, we went home to unload, ran a few errands and then it was time for some fun!  My whole family loves to ride our bikes but since my mom is still recovering from her fall at my marathon, it was just me and Jimmer.  We went to a local path for an easy 11ish miles then went home to relax.

On Saturday, I woke up early to meet Ashley for our long run and it has been forever since we’ve had all the llamas together.  Michelle is currently working on the home she and her husband recently purchased and Ash and I couldn’t be more excited for her!  We will have lots to catch up on!

After an easy 8, I headed home for some hot tea and to clean up before it was time to hit the links!  My brother, his girlfriend Pam, my dad and myself all went to play 9 holes at a small course right near where we rode our bikes the day before.  This was only my second outing of the year and I improved a lot since my last round!  We stopped for milkshakes afterwards then headed home to prepare for the cookout.

Saturday afternoon, we had Pam’s family and some other great family friends over to celebrate the holiday and my dad’s birthday.  Whenever we have parties at my house, we always have way too much good food!  We had your typical BBQ grilling items and some tasty side dishes followed by 2 kinds of dessert!  Everyone had a great time and left with full bellies!photo

Sunday was our day to recover so I got out for a quick 4 mile run before my mom and I ran a few errands and did a little shopping.  The rest of our day was spent reading outside and chit chatting.

Tonight, I have another game to play so I’m really hoping the rain, thunder and lightning hold off until we are done with the game!

Hope you had a great weekend!

Question of the day:  What did you do for the 4th of July?  What are your favorite cookout indulgences?

2 thoughts on “Rainy Monday

  1. Sounds like you had an awesome family filled break! I too got to spend my 4th with my family. I actually got to go to NYC! I got to see the fireworks in NYC exploding in front of my face. Totally awesome!

    As for cookout indulgence… alcohol. Something about fire and eating animals just goes really well with inebriation.

Leave a Reply

