Making Adjustments

Goodmorning everyone, I hope your week is going great!

So as you all know, I have officially begun my training program for the Chicago Marathon which takes place in October.  Unfortunately, I find myself struggling a bit with this program.  I think there are a few reasons for this:

  1. We have had to change our program around: the original program was designed for a goal race that is one week later than ours but with special running events, it has been difficult to simply change the schedule.
  2. It’s been hot and humid: I am very heat intolerant so when it gets too warm or humid out, my body feels EXTRA heavy.
  3. My routine is off: I have been attempting morning runs but I just can’t seem to get my butt out of bed in the morning!  Maybe going to bed a little earlier would help?
  4. Soccer: I never thought soccer would throw a wrench in my training but it really has.  On weeks that I have a game, I end up not taking a rest day even though I run an average of 5 miles during a game.

I am really going to sit down with my training schedule and map out a routine…then stick with it!  I think it’s important when making a plan to be realistic about your own abilities while still challenging yourself.  For example, I don’t think I can commit to 5 mornings a week of 5am runs.  It sounds like a great plan but for me personally, I don’t think this will work.

Something that I think WILL work is completing morning runs on Tuesdays and Thursdays.  This will leave my evenings free to hit the gym and finally start my strength training program.  Coaching and playing soccer will only go until the end of this month which will free up a ton of time in my schedule.

Until then, it seems as if I will just need to continue to make adjustments.  For instance, last night I decided while driving home from work that I would complete my 10 mile long run!  It was the perfect night for it; not too hot and the sun was setting.  I have to be honest though, my legs were feeling it!  Playing a game on Monday night then hitting a long run a few days after was definitely a challenge…but I completed it!!ryanrun

So my question to you all: How do you make adjustments to your routine? When do you notice that what you are doing isn’t quite working?

Leave a Reply

