Rural Run and Pancake Bliss

Happy Sunday everyone! I hope you are having a great weekend.  Sunday is always a great day to relax, get some errands done and prep for the week ahead which is exactly what I plan on doing.

Yesterday my family went to my cousins grad party and it was nice to visit with family.  I did however miss my long run.  I went to bed last night wanting to get up early to run but not have to set an alarm.  I have been seriously slacking on the sleep lately and can feel it affecting me.

Luckily, I fell asleep really early last night and woke up this morning feeling slightly refreshed.  By 7:45, I was hitting the road with my iPod and a bottle of water to start my 14 mile run!  By the time I hit 1 mile I was already dripping with sweat.  It was only about 70 degrees but much more humid than I thought.

This morning, I opted for what I like to call my “rural run”.  This run takes me a little bit out of town into some farm lands.  There are big open fields, some old barns and a few animals along the way.  I extended my normal route so that I could get all 14 miles in and I may have made a bad choice…I ended up running a hilly 14!ruralrun

Where I live, the roads are very flat with only a few slight inclines so when I came across some hills, my legs were not happy.  I kept on pushing but I won’t lie – today’s run was really hard!  In addition to the unfamiliar hills, I was also running alone when I typically do my long runs with my training ladies.

I am proud of myself for finishing those miles but truly had to fight for each one.  Not all miles are easy but all miles are definitely worth it.  They are especially worth it when I come home to pancakes!!  My dad made both blueberry and peanut butter chip pancakes this morning and they were heavenly.pancakes

After a much needed shower, it was time for me to eat!  I had one of each kind along with a big mug of hot tea.  There really is no better feeling than taking a long shower and having hot tea after a run.  When I was done, my dad and I went to the grocery store to stock up for the week.  My latest obsession has been lettuce wrap sandwiches so we picked up some Boston bib lettuce for that as well as watermelon, turkey and the ingredients for dinner this week.

Now that the errands are done, it is time for me to relax.  I have been reading a book called “Where’d You Go Bernadette” by Maria Semple so hope to tackle some of that this afternoon.

What have you been up to this weekend!?

Leave a Reply

