Alarm Clock Snoozing

Can you believe it’s finally Thursday!? We are just 2 short days away from the weekend and I can’t wait! I don’t have any big plans but being able to sleep in on Sunday sounds perfect right about now.

As you can tell from the title of this post, I was not ready to get out of bed this morning.  When I got home from work last night it was storming really badly so rather than going for a run, I opted for a strength training workout and it was perfect! I had full intentions to get up early this morning to run before work but my bed was just too warm and cozy. This is really something that I am going to need to work on!

Now that I’ve added in lifting to my schedule, I am going to have to commit myself to running in the mornings on Tuesdays and Thursdays.  I could probably manage my run and lift after work but that would be pretty time consuming.

Anyways, tonight I am sticking with my scheduled 5 mile run and then I will complete Day 2 of my lift program.  Day 1 really incorporated balance so each move was a total body workout: I needed to use my legs for the squats/deadlifts, my arms for the added rotations and my core to stay balanced while on 1 leg. I finished the workout feeling a nice burn!

The lift for Day 2 starts with a circuit.  I will complete each exercise for 1 minute, followed by a 10 second rest before continuing on with the next exercise.  After the circuit, I have an ab circuit and some additional hip exercises.  It is important for runners to strengthen and loosen their hips because they tend to get VERY tight with high mileage.

Below are the exercises for my circuit tonight:

Lunge w/Pulse Front Raises
Plank to Push Up
Meet the Queens
Plank Row to Shoulder Press
Drop Squats

How long do your workouts take?

Leave a Reply

