Positive Thinking and Wishing Luck

Goodmorning and Happy Hump Day!  Once you make it through Wednesday, you are in smooth sailing for the week!

I just want to start today’s post by asking you all to wish the girls I coach a big GOOD LUCK!  In New York, all students going into 7th and 8th grade have to pass a physical fitness test before they can try-out for JV sports and today is day 1 of testing.  They have to complete a mile and a half run, a 50 yard sprint, a shuttle run, standing long jump and sit-ups.

The girls have been working hard and we have had some training sessions to prep them.  I know how badly they want to pass the test so I will be thinking of them all morning until I hear!

As for my own workouts, I already had to make adjustments this week but that is my own fault.  On Monday night, we had our end of the season party and I was being rather ambitious to think that I could get a 5 mile run in afterwards.  No big deal though; I ran 5 last night and have a 6 mile run planned for tonight.

Last night, I talked on the phone with Alyssa while we both ran so it was as if I was back with my running buddy again!  She just got home from her honeymoon and it sounds like they had an amazing time.  Tonight, I have plans to talk with Rachel and catch up from the past weekend.

Due to my adjustments, here is what my week will now look like:

Wednesday: 6 miles

Thursday: 5 miles

Friday: 4 miles

Saturday: 16 miles

Umm, can you believe that my group is already at 16 miles for long runs and 35 miles for the weekly total!? Training is building so much faster this time around!

Leave a Reply

