A Rough Start with a Sweet Finish

Goodmorning and Happy Sunday morning! It looks like it will be another beautiful day here in the Buffalo area. I am going to attempt to get a run in (more on that in a bit), and we are going to hit the links with a round of golf. Of course, we will have our typical Sunday activities of meal planning for the week and grocery shopping. Sunday is great for a little bit of fun and a little bit of prep.

Yesterday morning, my training program had a scheduled 16 mile run and I was actually looking forward to it. Ash and I met up with the large group and were on our way at around 7:30. Things were going great – our pacing was in control, the weather was beautiful and we were both feeling good. Then at mile 11, I was watching the cars at the approaching intersection to make sure we didn’t get hit when my ankle and foot found a nice pothole left over from the winter.

I almost fell flat on my face but with some fumbling, Ashley grabbed me and we made our way to the grass. The pain wasn’t too bad but I knew something was off. I have sprained my ankles multiple times throughout the year with soccer. I thought maybe I could finish the run (it was only 5 miles, I thought). But as soon as I ran across the street, I could tell that it would be best to stop. My whole foot and ankle area felt really weak. I made my way back to the store while she ran to get the car.

I was disappointed I didn’t get to finish the run but it’s better to be safe than sorry. I know I would be way more disappointed if I caused further injury.

When I got home I made myself some breakfast (egg whites with some cheese) and took a nice hot shower. My parents were out for their own workout with a 12 mile bike ride. When they got home, we all got ready and head out for an afternoon of disc golf! It is a great, FREE activity, especially on such a beautiful day.discgolf

My mom didn’t play because her arm is still bothering her from the break but she walked along with us. My dad and I always get silly competitive with each other and like to talk smack. I always get my butt kicked by him but yesterday I won by 2! As a reward for winning, he took us to a local bakery for cake! I have to tell you that this cake is amazing!! We got a slice of red velvet and a slice of white cake with raspberry almond filling!cake

We dug into it as soon as we got home – it’s ok to eat dessert first sometimes! Then the rest of the afternoon was spent reading “Where’d You Go Bernadette” out on the back deck. The story is starting to get interesting but is still a bit slow at times. I’ll let you know what unfolds in the next few weeks,

What fun adventures did you have this weekend?

Leave a Reply

